Brass in Concert

Date: 19 Nov 2022
Venue: Sage, Gateshead
Music Adjudicator(s): Dr Howard Evans, Martin Winter
Entertainment Adjudicator(s): Frode Rydland, Kevin Hathway, Anne Crookston
Soloist Adjudicator(s): James Fountain

Pos Band Conductor Draw Music Ent Total
1 Brighouse & Rastrick Russell Gray 7 186 Flag
2 Tredegar Ian Porthouse 11 181 Flag
3 Cory Philip Harper 3 179 Flag
4 Foden's Michael Fowles 9 169 Flag
5 Carlton Main Frickley Colliery Allan Withington 1 156 Flag
6 Grimethorpe Colliery Ben Palmer 12 143 Flag
7 Krohnengen Brass Band Ray Farr 2 132 Flag
8 Friary Brass Band Chris King 10 132 Flag
9 Flowers Paul Holland 5 130 Flag
10 Hammonds Morgan Griffiths 4 120 Flag
11 The GUS Band Leigh Baker 8 111 Flag
12 NASUWT Riverside Brass Professor Nicholas J Childs 6 101 Flag

Banks Group Trophy (quality of performance): Tredegar
Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council Trophy (best entertainment and presentation): Cory

Best programme content: Brighouse & Rastrick

Audience entertainment trophy: Cory

Geoffrey Whitham Trophy (best soloist): Kirsty Abbotts (cornet, Hammonds) playing Ladies in Lavender (Nigel Hess arr Daniel Hall)

Cyril Beere Memorial Trophy (best new composition or arrangement): Brighouse & Rastrick (playing Adios Nonino (Astor Piazzolla arr Ian McElligott))

Harry Mortimer Trophy (best principal cornet): Tom Hutchinson (Cory)
Gateshead MBC Trophy (best soprano cornet): Richard Poole (Foden's)
Thomas Bulmer Memorial Trophy (best euphonium): Gary Curtin (Foden's)
Don Lusher Trophy (best trombone): Chris Binns (Grimethorpe Colliery)
The Bennett Family Trophy (best flugel): Helen Williams (Cory)
Gordon Higginbottom Trophy (best horn): Jonathan Bates (Foden's)
North of England Regional Committee Trophy (best baritone): Ben Stratford (Tredegar)
John Fletcher Trophy (best basses): Brighouse & Rastrick
Louis and Colin Johnson Memorial Trophy (best percussion): Foden's

Dougie Grieve Trophy (youngest player): Ewan Rigby, age 16 (GUS)