Durham League

Date: 5 Nov 2023
Venue: Lubetkin Theatre, East Durham College, Peterlee
Adjudicator(s): Sam Fisher

Pos Band Conductor Draw
1 Ferryhill Town Jonathan Fenwick 4
Cross Patonce (Goff Richards)
2 GT Group Peterlee John Roberts 12
An Epic Symphony (Percy Fletcher)
3 Billingham Silver Vaughan Evans 11
A Saddleworth Festival Overture (Goff Richards)
4 Cockerton Prize Silver Andy Hunter 7
Legacy (Tom Davoren)
5 Trimdon Concert Brass John Bell 14
Hollywood! (Goff Richards)
6 Durham Miners' Association Stuart Gray 8
Lakeland Variations (Philip Sparke)
7 Houghton Brass Aidan Hodgson 13
Cry of the Mountain (Howard Lorriman)
8 Ashington Colliery Nigel Stedman 5
Fire in the Blood (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
9 Spennymoor Town Fiona Casewell 6
Penlee (Simon Dobson)
10 Dunston Silver Fraser Hodgson 2
Mountain Views (Bertrand Moren)
11 Penrith Town Ian Butterworth 3
Dimensions (Peter Graham)
12 Houghton Area Youth Glenis Smith 15
Stantonbury Festival (Ray Steadman-Allen)
13 Backworth Colliery Chris Travis 10
The Four Noble Truths (Philip Sparke)
14 Craghead Colliery Stephen Goddard 9
Variations on Laudate Dominum (Edward Gregson)

Band drawn number 1 withdrew

Highest placed 2nd section band: Ferryhill Town
Highest placed 3rd section band: Spennymoor Town
Highest placed 4th section band: Billingham Silver
Highest placed youth band: Houghton Area Youth

Best soprano cornet: Phillip Tait (GT Group Peterlee)
Best cornet: David Gillson (Cockerton Prize Silver)
Best 'middle of the band': Ferryhill Town
Best euphonium: David Clough (Ferryhill Town)
Best trombone section: Ferryhill Town
Best bass section: GT Group Peterlee
Best percussion section: Spennymoor Town