Land O' Burns

Date: 26 Aug 1995
Venue: Walker Halls, Troon
Adjudicator(s): Roy Newsome

Pos Band Conductor Draw Points
1 Unison Kinneil Raymond Tennant 2 96
Spectrum (Gilbert Vinter)
2 Newtongrange (B & C Decorators) Derek Broadbent 3 94
Variations on a Ninth (Gilbert Vinter)
3 Dunaskin Doon John Hudson 7 93
Triumphant Rhapsody (Gilbert Vinter)
4 Broxburn Public Michael Marzella 5 90
Salute to Youth (Gilbert Vinter)
5 Johnstone Silver Stanley Thompson 8 89
Entertainments (Gilbert Vinter)
6 Kilmarnock Concert Brass Andrew Keachie 6 87
Salute to Youth (Gilbert Vinter)
7 Newmilns & Galston Archie Hutchison 1 85
Symphony of Marches (Gilbert Vinter)
8 Livingston Brass James Smith 4 83
Triumphant Rhapsody (Gilbert Vinter)
W David A Hall Whitburn Major Peter Parkes - -
W Kirkintilloch Charles Keenan - -

The inaugural 'Land O’ Burns Invitation Brass Band Contest' was limited to Championship and 1st Section bands only, although all Ayrshire bands were invited to compete.  Kilmarnock, in the 2nd section at the time, was the only Ayrshire band from the lower sections to accept an invitation.

Contest format: bands required to play a test piece composed by Gilbert Vinter plus one own-choice concert item

Best 1st section band: Unison Kinneil
Best instrumentalist: Neil Philip (euphonium, Newtongrange)

Highest placed Ayrshire band: Dunaskin Doon