Wessex BBA Festival

Date: 28 Nov 2009
Venue: Pavilion Theatre, Weymouth
Adjudicator(s): C Brian Buckley

Pos Band Conductor Draw
1 Woodfalls Melvin White
Montage (Peter Graham)
2 Michelmersh Silver Melvin White
The Saga of Haakon the Good (Philip Sparke)
3 Sandhurst Silver Ian McElligott
The Year of the Dragon (Philip Sparke)
4 Ocean Brass Nick Grace
Triumphant Rhapsody (Gilbert Vinter)
5 Otterbourne Brass  
Purcell Variations (Kenneth Downie)
6 Friary Guildford  
Dances and Alleluias (Philip Sparke)
7 Shrewton Silver Michael Dunford
Paganini Variations (Philip Wilby)
8 Bath Spa David Hayward
9 Verwood Concert Brass David Johnson
Coventry Variations (Bramwell Tovey)
10 Brunel Brass John Winterflood
Rhapsody in Brass (Dean Goffin)
11 Phoenix Brass (Crewkerne) Paul Slator
Triumphant Rhapsody (Gilbert Vinter)
12 Gillingham Imperial Silver  
Music for a Festival (Philip Sparke)
13 Hyde  
Prisms (Peter Graham)
14 Test Valley Brass Steve Large
Three Haworth Impressions (Gordon Langford)
15 Denmead Brass  
Purcell Variations (Kenneth Downie)
16 Weymouth Concert Brass Adam Glynn
17 Corsham  
Music for a Festival (Philip Sparke)
18 New Forest Brass Ian Luxford
Partita (Edward Gregson)
19 Swindon Brass  
20 Gosport Silver  
Little Suite No 1 for Brass Band, Op 80 (Malcolm Arnold)
W Solent Concert   -
W Spinnaker Brass   -
W STORM Brass Simon Dobson -

Best championship section band: Woodfalls
Best 1st section band: Michelmersh Silver
Best 2nd section band: Shrewton
Best 3rd section band: Bath Spa
Best 4th section band: Test Valley Brass

Best instrumentalist: Scott Stewart (trombone, Woodfalls)
Best euphonium: Graham Lawrence (Woodfalls)
Best instrumentalist (2nd, 3rd and 4th section bands only): Paul Richards (soprano cornet, Brunel Brass)
Best cornet (1st section bands only): ? (Michelmersh Silver)
Best bass section: Woodfalls
Best percussion section: Sandhurst Brass

Best musical interpretation by conductor: Meilvin White (Michelmersh Silver)