Dublin Festival of Brass

Date: 24 Mar 2018
Venue: Dublin Jerome Center for the Performing Arts, Dublin, Ohio
Music Adjudicator(s): Professor Steven Mead
Soloist Adjudicator(s): Dr William Ballenger

Pos Band Conductor Draw Points
1 Oakland University Brass Band Dr Kenneth Kroesche 5 100
The Essence of Time (Peter Graham)
2 Arkansas Musicworks Brass Band Tim Hendrix 7 93
Resurgam (Eric Ball)
3 Dublin Silver Band Dr Timothy Jameson 9 89
Blackout (Thomas Doss)
4 Eastern Iowa Brass Band Alexander Beamer 1 86
Spirits of Puccini (Hermann Pallhuber)
5 Cincinnati Brass Band Jon Noworyta 4 86
Connotations (Edward Gregson)
6 Chesapeake Silver Cornet Brass Band Dr Russell Murray 6 82
Fire in the Blood (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
7 Prairie Brass Band Mary Barnes-Gingrich 3 77
Fire in the Blood (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
8 Fillmore Philharmonic Brass Dr Stephen Lytle 2 76
Frontier Visions (Stephen Bulla)
9 Crossroads Brass Band Paul Bork 8 68
Purcell Variations (Kenneth Downie)

Contest format: march + slow melody (lyrical piece) + major work (over 8.5 minutes)

Best march: Oakland University Brass Band (playing ORB (Charles Anderson))
Best slow melody: Oakland University Brass Band (playing Arioso (J S Bach arr Howard Snell))
Best major work: Oakland University Brass Band

Best soprano cornet: Doug Lindset (Arkansas Musicworks Brass Band)
Best cornet: Scott Bricker (Oakland University Brass Band)
Best flugel horn: Jimmy Shepherd (Fillmore Philharmonic Brass)
Best horn: Nicole Tremonti (Oakland University Brass Band)
Best baritone: John Anderson (Oakland University Brass Band)
Best euphonium: Cody Hutchison (Arkansas Musicworks Brass Band)
Best trombone: David Anderson (Eastern Iowa Brass Band)
Best bass section: Dublin Silver
Best percussion section: Dublin Silver Band