Dublin Festival of Brass

Date: 23 Mar 2019
Venue: Dublin Jerome Center for the Performing Arts, Dublin, Ohio
Music Adjudicator(s): James Gourlay, Dr Rachel Hockenberry
Soloist Adjudicator(s): Vaughn Weister

Pos Band Conductor Draw Points
1 Oakland University Brass Band Dr Kenneth Kroesche 8 200
Journey to the Centre of the Earth (Peter Graham)
2 Dublin Silver Band Dr Timothy Jameson 5 181
Out of the Storm Clouds (Jonathan Bates)
3 Arkansas Musicworks Brass Band William Ratcliffe 6 180
Another World's Hell (Simon Dobson)
4 St Louis Brass Band Dr John Bell 7 180
Vitae Aeternum (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
5 Five Lakes Silver Band Dr Steven Kandow 3 169
The Torchbearer - Symphonic Variations on a theme by Eric Ball (Peter Graham)
6 Fillmore Philharmonic Brass Dr Kevin Holzman 9 162
Coventry Variations (Bramwell Tovey)
7 Chesapeake Silver Cornet Brass Band Dr Russell Murray 4 151
The Saga of Haakon the Good (Philip Sparke)
8 Cincinnati Brass Band Jon Noworyta 2 143
Fire in the Blood (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
9 Dublin Metro Brass William Ballenger 1 139
Chorale and Toccata (Stephen Bulla)
10 Crossroads Brass Band Paul Bork 10 139
The Dark Side of the Moon (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)

Contest format: march + slow melody (lyrical piece) + major work (over 8.5 minutes)

Best march: Oakland University Brass Band (playing Arnhem (Alfred Kelly))
Best slow melody: Oakland University Brass Band (playing Wondrous Cross (Isaac Watts arr Philip Wilby))
Best major work: Oakland University Brass Band

Best soprano cornet: Michael Baker (Oakland Unversity Brass Band)
Best cornet: Matt Taton (Five Lakes Silver Band)
Best flugel horn: Ben Feuerhelm (Oakland University Brass Band)
Best horn: George Zonders & Brian Mayer (Dublin Silver Band)
Best baritone: full section (Dublin Silver Band)
Best euphonium: Grant Jameson (Dublin Silver Band)
Best trombone: full section (Oakland University Brass Band)
Best bass section: Oakland University Brass Band
Best percussion section: Oakland University Brass Band