Wessex BBA Festival

Date: 28 Nov 2015
Venue: Life-Centre, Bournemouth
Adjudicator(s): Dr Graham Jones

Pos Band Conductor Draw
1 Verwood Concert Brass Kevin Smith 10
Dances and Arias (Edward Gregson)
2 Medway Melvin White 6
Elgar Variations (Martin Ellerby)
3 Hyde Jonathan Lush-Camps 19
Four Dances from Checkmate (Sir Arthur Bliss arr Eric Ball)
4 Sandhurst Silver Andrew Porter 12
Paganini Variations (Philip Wilby)
5 Andover Town Steve Large 13
The Plantagenets (Edward Gregson)
6 Poole Borough Dr Chris Davis 15
Egmont Overture (Ludwig van Beethoven arr Eric Ball)
7 Swindon Pegasus Brass David Mace 18
Penlee (Simon Dobson)
8 New Forest Brass Ian Luxford 16
The Graces of Love (Oliver Waespi)
9 Michelmersh Silver Major David Barringer 17
The Essence of Time (Peter Graham)
10 Bournemouth Concert Brass David Hayward 3
Diversions on a Bass Theme (George Lloyd)
11 Gillingham Imperial Silver Jim Bennett 11
Prometheus Unbound (Granville Bantock)
12 Corsham Colin Hogg 14
Triptych for Brass Band (Philip Sparke)
13 A W Parker (Drybrook) Josh Ruck 4
Trittico (James Curnow)
14 Verwood Town Emma Button 5
The Haslemere Suite (Peter Graham)
15 Bath Spa Martin Perry 7
The Present Age (Leslie Condon)
16 Swindon Brass Francis Cowley 9
Evolution - Five States of Change (Philip Sparke)
17 Spinnaker Brass Mike Pennicote-Henrie 8
A Little Light Music (Philip Wilby)
18 Midsomer Norton & Radstock Silver Joanne Sykes 2
Promenade (Frank Bryce)
W Ocean Brass   1

Pitt Rivers Cup (overall winners): Verwood Concert Brass

The Christopher Wren Cup (best championship section band): Medway
Lilliput Trophy (best 1st section band): Verwood Concert Brass
Salisbury Cup (best 2nd section band): Andover Town
Avalon Cup (best 3rd section band): Gillingham Imperial Silver
Hampshire Cup (best 4th section band): Verwood Town

Best playing of a march: Medway (playing ???)

The Kevin Bolton Plaque (best instrumentalist): Elaine Close (cornet, Verwood Concert Brass)

The Tom Gomersall Memorial Cup (best euphonium): ? (Medway)
The Maurice Woods Trophy (best cornet in sections 2-4): Adrian Wallace (Andover Town)
The Stan & Barry Willis Cup (best trombone section): Andover Town
Arthur Spence Shield (best bass section): Michelmersh Silver
The James Winter Trophy (best percussion section): Verwood Concert Brass

The South Wilts Cup (best musical interpretation by conductor): Melvin White (Medway)